EEG apportionment


The EEG (Renewable Energy Sources Act) guarantees renewable energy producers a fixed feed-in tariff. The difference to the electricity exchange price is declared by the grid operators as a cost that is passed on to the general public. The four German transmission system operators (Tennet TSO, 50Hertz Transmission, Amprion and Transnet BW) determine the amount of the EEG levy for the following year on October 15 of each year. In 2016, the levy amounts to 6.354 ct/kWh. For certain electricity-intensive companies with an annual volume of 1 GWh or more, the equalization scheme can be claimed from BAFA, whereby the levy is reduced.